
Activity-led
Pontoon day
A platform to return to
- Length7.5 hours
- Rating4.5 from 384
- Pricefrom $200
Guides
Language
Currency
Check datesfrom $193 · cancelling is freeYour group, priced
Premium catamaran day to the outer Great Barrier Reef
★ 4.8 · 3,767 user reviews
Brief answer
Cairns reef fleet operators run pontoon days, sailing and superyacht cruises and small-group fast boats from the waterfront terminals.
What to check
Choose from 4 options
Pick the formats you are weighing and the page adds up the from-prices for your party.
≈
View≈
View≈
View≈
ViewStarting prices from GetYourGuide, converted at the ECB reference rate. You will see the exact price when booking.
Who runs which kind of boat out of the Cairns waterfront, how big each deck is, how long it spends on the reef, and what the Reef Authority says about choosing between them.
Editorial team, greatbarrierreeftour.quest · Updated November 7, 2026 · 7 mins to read
In brief
The Cairns reef fleet works from a short stretch of waterfront. Sunlover says every one of its trips leaves from the Reef Fleet Terminal in Cairns,1 the Big Cat Green Island boats check guests in at Marlin Wharf,4 and the listings checked for this page send guests to finger piers at the Cairns Marlin Marina or to a vessel named on the boarding pass. Anyone weighing one boat against another is choosing between vessels that set off from the same waterfront.
The Reef Authority does not rank operators, but it does recognise some. Operators it lists as high standard are independently certified by Ecotourism Australia and Earth Check,3 and its Cairns to Mission Beach list names Sunlover Cruises, Seastar Cruises, Reef Magic Cruises, Passions of Paradise, Tusa Dive, Pro Dive Cairns, Pure Snorkelling, Reef Daytripper and Reef Runner Charters.5 It also names Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises, Down Under Cruise and Dive and Fitzroy Island Adventures,6 along with Great Adventures Cruises, Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, Ocean Free, Ocean Freedom and Ocean Spirit Cruises.7
The Authority also counts Master Reef Guides: 26 work in the Cairns region, including at Frankland Islands, Green Island and Fitzroy Island,8 out of 82 across the whole Reef.9 None of this tells you which boat will have the clearest water on a given morning. What it does is narrow the field to operators that accept independent scrutiny of how they treat the reef, which makes a reasonable first filter before you compare price and timing.
Format by format
| Format | Run and stops | Guests or extras | Wheelchair |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pontoon day | 1.5 hours each way | Waterslide and observatory10 | Listed as accessible |
| Premium catamaran | 2 hours out | 2 reef stops of 2 and 1.5 hours | Not stated |
| Superyacht day | 80 minutes out | Saxon and Hastings, 2 hours each | Not stated |
| Sailing day | 2 hours each way | 25 guests, 4 hours at the reef | Not stated |
| Small-group half day | 1 hour out | Up to 40 guests | Not stated |
| Reef and island day | 1.5 hours out | Reef 2 hours, island 2 hours | Listed as accessible |
Run times and stop lengths are as each listing states them; 'Not stated' means the record is silent, not that the boat is unsuitable.
A pontoon is a fixed platform moored on the outer reef, and the Cairns pontoon operators build the day around it. Sunlover has sailed to the Moore Reef pontoon daily since 1991, and its full day offers snorkelling, a waterslide, a semi-submersible and an underwater observatory.2,10 A Reef Magic cruise from Cairns runs direct to the operator's own activity pontoon on the outer reef, and lists non-swimming activities that include an air-conditioned underwater observatory and glass bottom boat and semi-submersible tours.11,12
Great Adventures runs a reef tour to its Outer Reef Platform with 3 hours there, an underwater observatory and a semi-submersible reef tour.13 A pontoon listing that checks in at the Sunlover counter runs 7.5 hours, with 1.5 hours by catamaran each way, a glass bottom boat and semi-submersible tour for non-swimmers, a waterslide and upgrades to a scuba dive or helicopter flight, and it is wheelchair accessible. That listing is rated 4.5 from 384 reviews.
Pontoon days sit under the anchoring rules of the Cairns Planning Area: boats may not anchor closer than 50 metres to moorings or 200 metres to pontoons.14 The Authority describes day tours as the way most tourists visit, by large fast catamaran to a pontoon on the outer reef, or aboard smaller sailing and cruising boats.15 A pontoon suits mixed groups: swimmers, non-swimmers and divers can each find something to do on the same platform.
Passions of Paradise runs a 25 metre high performance catamaran that sails daily from Cairns to unique outer reef locations, and says it actually sails the boat back from the Reef.18,19 It holds Ecotourism Australia's Advanced Ecotourism Certification,20 and its tour includes all snorkelling equipment with a free guided snorkel tour, a chef prepared tropical buffet lunch, and morning and afternoon tea.21
Down Under Cruise and Dive runs Evolution, a 35-metre superyacht that gives up to 5 hours on the reef across 2 outer reef sites.22 The superyacht listing that checks in with Down Under runs 8.5 hours, with 80 minutes out, 2 hours at Saxon Reef, lunch, and 2 hours at Hastings Reef. Ocean Free advertises exclusive tours for only 25 guests and says it alone in Cairns offers a personal sailing reef and island tour, which is the operator's own claim.23,24 A sailing listing for a Green Island and reef day lists 25 guests, 2 hours by yacht each way and 4 hours at the reef.
Seastar Cruises takes a maximum of 36 people a day and goes to Michaelmas Cay, then Hastings Reef, which it reaches 20 minutes later, and passes Oyster Reef, Upolu Cay and Green Island on the way home.17,25,26,27 Sailing and superyacht days trade speed for space and a slower run out. They suit travellers who care more about the deck and the pace than about the cheapest fare.
Pick your boat
Choose the line closest to your day and read the answer beside it.
If Mixed swimmers and non-swimmers
Pontoon day
The pontoon listing offers a glass bottom boat, a semi-submersible and a waterslide.
If I want a slower, roomier boat
Superyacht day
The superyacht is a 35-metre vessel with 2 hours at each of 2 reefs.
If I want the smallest group
Sailing day
A sailing listing caps the day at 25 guests.
If I only have a morning
Half-day fast boat
The half-day tour lists 4 hours and 3 departure times.
If I want the crew to choose the reef
Premium catamaran
The crew pick the reef on the day from the outer reefs.
Three formats

Activity-led
A platform to return to

Space on deck
Saxon and Hastings

Shorter trip
Up to 2 hours guided
Fast boats make a shorter day. The half-day tour that meets at the Cairns Marlin Marina lists 4 hours, a maximum of 27 guests, a choice of 3 departure times and 1.5 hours of guided snorkelling at one of 2 reefs. The small-group half-day trip lists 5 hours, up to 2 hours of guided snorkelling and a maximum of 40 guests, with a marine biologist presentation at 10:30 AM at the pontoon office on D Finger. Its operator, Pure Snorkelling, is on the Authority's high standard list.5
The small-group full-day tour lists 7 hours, a high-speed boat to 2 snorkel locations with a guide, and lunch and snacks on board, and it is rated 4.8 from 303 reviews. Tusa Reef Tours runs a half-day trip with up to 2 hours on the reef,28 which suits travellers who want the reef before a later flight or a free afternoon in Cairns.
Whether a smaller boat is better value depends on the reef time you actually get. Compare each from-price with the stop lengths in the listing, not with the headline hours, and check how the day is split between the run out, the stops and lunch. Smaller decks also change the feel of the day: fewer guests share each briefing, and a guide can reach each swimmer.
The check-in clock
Earliest
Check-in at the Reef Fleet Terminal runs 07:00 to 7:30 AM.
Early
Check-in is at 7:30 AM on A Finger and the boat leaves at 8:00 AM.
Early
Check-in runs from 7:15 AM to 7:45 AM for an 8 AM departure.
Early
Check-in runs from 7 AM to 7:45 AM for an 8 AM departure.
Mid-morning
Check-in at the terminal runs from 08:45 to 09:45 AM.
Some operators exist mainly for divers. Pro Dive Cairns runs a three-day, two-night liveaboard dive trip, carries a maximum of 32 passengers and lists access to 19 dive sites on the Great Barrier Reef.29,16,30 Mike Ball Dive Expeditions runs standard expeditions of 3, 4, 5 and 7 nights from Cairns,31 and its 5-night Great Barrier Reef and Ribbon Reefs expedition lists up to 18 dives.32
The liveaboard listing on this platform is the 3-day, 2-night trip with up to 11 dives, 9 by day and 2 at night, across 19 dive sites at 4 outer reef locations, and certified divers must show proof of PADI Open Water certification or equivalent. A 2-day sailing trip on a 16-metre yacht offers a choice of 25 moorings at 9 reefs and books snorkelling only in its listed price.
Day boats can serve divers too, and this site's catamaran lists snorkelling and scuba diving at both reef stops. The full diving picture, from age limits to the Ribbon Reefs, sits in the diving guide on this site. Here the point is that operators specialising in dive trips are a separate class from the pontoon and sailing day boats, and they price and plan their trips accordingly.
Video

Ole Greg on YouTube · The video waits until you tap play to load.
These operators are independently certified by environmental certification schemes, Ecotourism Australia and Earth Check
Before you book
Start with the clock. This site's cruise checks in from 7 AM to 7:45 AM for an 8 AM departure, the superyacht day from 7:15 AM to 7:45 AM, the pontoon listing from 08:45 to 09:45 AM, and a Sunlover trip from Cairns on the reef and island day from 07:00 to 7:30 AM. A later check-in changes the whole day, since the return is later too.
Then read the stops. This site's day lists 2 hours at the opening reef and 1.5 hours at the next, while the coral cay cruise lists 2 stops of 2.5 hours each. Look at guest numbers as well: a sailing day lists 25 guests, a half-day tour lists a maximum of 27, and a small-group operator caps its day at 36.17
Finally, read the cancellation line. The listings checked here all offer free cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund, so the choice need not be final until the day before. Group-size limits also come from the Reef Authority: at moderate-use Locations in the Cairns Planning Area the maximum is 60 people per vessel or aircraft including crew.33
FAQ
Sunlover says every one of its trips leaves from the terminal,1 and this site's cruise checks in there from 7 AM to 7:45 AM.
A sailing day lists 25 guests, a half-day tour a maximum of 27, and a small-group half-day trip up to 40.
They are independently certified by Ecotourism Australia and Earth Check.3
This site's cruise checks in from 7 AM, and a Sunlover reef and island listing from 07:00.
The pontoon listing that checks in at the Sunlover counter is wheelchair accessible, and the reef and Fitzroy Island listing says so too.
The listings checked offer free cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund.
The pontoon listing is priced from $200, against this site's catamaran from $193.
Sources
Next read
Questions about the reef from Cairns? A real person answers here.